Posted by: susanideus | July 10, 2010

Friends, Surprises and Other Happy Notes

It is not so much our friends’ help that helps us as the confident knowledge that they will help us. ~Epicurus (Greek philosopher 341-270 BC)

My online friend, Kathy Waller, gave me the “Silver Lining” award a few days ago. What a great way to start my day. Thanks, Kathy.   I hope you know how much I appreciate your thoughtfulness and your support.  I can always count on your responses. You “hear” me and make me feel noticed. I encourage my readers to visit Kathy’s blog to write is to write is to write. It’s always a treat to read your words. I often learn something, and I almost always leave with a smile. (BTW, my friend, it took me a few tries, but I got this graphic posted on my blog home page–it does try the old memory function sometimes, doesn’t it?!)

silverlining1

Second surprise for the day was seeing my latest blog post mentioned by Amber Lea Starfire on the Blog Talk section of her blog Writing Through Life. Thanks for that. It’s always gratifying to know that bloggers we admire actually read our blogs too. Be sure to visit her blog for great writing tips and interesting prompts.

This is a sense of community in the blogosphere that I love. There’s an interconnectedness that continues to grow as we meet, visit, comment on and recognize other bloggers.

Just a reminder. If you do visit a blog, leave a comment, even if just to say “Hey I was here today.” When someone leaves a comment for you, be sure to respond. If you read a post from a fellow blogger that moves you, cite it on your blog, giving blog name and link. It’s easy to do. This “play it forward” mindset helps all of us. Why are we out there in the blogosphere but to be read and to share and to connect?

I’m to pass along the Silver Lining Award to 5 other bloggers.  My choices are:

  1. Becca Taylor- Becca’s Cyber Home
  2. Rhonda Esakov- Rhonda’s A-“Muse”-ing Rambles
  3. Judy Miller- The International Mom’s Blog
  4. Susan Wittig Albert- Lifescapes
  5. Susan J Tweit – Walking Nature Home

All of these ladies, in one way or another, encourage me, teach me, inspire me—by their words, by their actions, with the knowledge they share. The American Heritage Dictionary defines silver lining as “a hopeful or comforting prospect in the midst of difficulty.”  These ladies give me hope, they support my efforts, they share their expertise with me, they listen to my words. All have offered comfort at various times. This old world can be a difficult place. Being a writer includes difficult days. These ladies are my silver linings and so much more. Please visit their blogs. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

A lot of people have gone further than they thought they could because someone else thought they could.  ~Author Unknown

Responses

  1. Hey, I was here today.

    Thanks for your kind words. If I hear your words, it’s because you say things I need to hear, and often things I’d have said if I could have found the words.

    You’re right–there is community in the blogosphere. I felt sad when I learned you were leaving Texas, but then the folly of the emotion hit me: you’ll be where you’re always been. Right here. (Sad for me, that is. I was thrilled for you.)

  2. Thanks so much for the award, Susan. I will cherish it. What a wonderful journey you’re taking. And must say that I love the quotation from Lewis Carroll that you posted a few days ago. We assume that we’re always the same person, but we’re NOT–at least, not if we are growing!

    Blessings on your quest.

    • Sal, your belief in me and what I can do has been a great source of inspiration for me. I’ve tried things I would have missed but for the opportunities you have offered me. I have learned so much from you–I still love it when you edit my reviews. You’re always teaching! Thank you for all you do, not just for me, but for the opportunities you’ve opened up for so many women. I remain in awe of your energy and discipline.

  3. What a lovely award, Susan I! It’s a treat to read your words and see your writing grow and strengthen. You’ve got much to say, and I’m honored to think anything I’ve done has given you support on your journey.

    • Thank you for the compliment about my writing growing and strengthening. Coming from you, it means a lot. I would not be doing haiku if it were not for you–and it is now one of the delights of my life. In the midst of all you are going through, you take time to encourage. Your inner strength inspires me daily.

  4. Hi Susan,
    I am touched. I enjoy reading your blog and hearing your voice. Wonderful! You inspire me!
    Judy

    • And you inspire me, Judy. Two blogs, all you do with your family, the articles you have had published recently, sharing your blogging knowledge at the SCN conference. And you are so upbeat–that in itself is refreshing and inspiring. You do good work, my friend!

  5. I was seaching for you so I could tell you that your review of An Altar In The World is excellent, and that it sent me hurrying to order the book. And in the process I found your blog (obviously). So that’s TWO valued gifts this morning. I’ll be back! And I’ll be watching for more of your reviews.

    • I apologize for taking so long to reply. We’ve been in process of moving and no full-time internet yet–have to wait for free wi-fi at local coffee shops. I’m so glad you liked the review. She’s one of my favorite authors, especially her later books. I hope you’ll be back to visit again soon.

  6. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with
    us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Fantastic blog and fantastic design and style.


Leave a Reply

Categories

