Posted by: susanideus | July 2, 2010

The Time has Come

Be willing to be a beginner every single morning.  ~Meister Eckhart

I think I’ve had the wrong attitude about beginning this new lifestyle of mine. Like presto, change-o, you’re retired, you have unending time, you’ll be writing your masterpiece any day now.  And, you know what, I haven’t—I can’t. That whole mind-set is too overwhelming for me. When I managed employees in another life, I would never have expected a brand new employee to come in knowing how to do it all, and meeting every goal the first day. Wouldn’t be realistic or fair, would it?

I’m going to approach this as I would any new undertaking, any new job I’ve ever started. I’m the newbie, the beginner, the one with least seniority. My learning curve will be steep, and I’ll have to apply myself. There’s a lot to be learned, but given time, and patience with myself, I can do this.

My work space is important. I’ll have my reference books, my notes, my angels, muses and totems where they are accessible. The right tools are important for success, and help eliminate distractions. I will establish a routine, set but not inflexible.  I will be accountable for my time, and I will endeavor to use it wisely.

The greatest masterpieces were once only pigments on a palette.                   ~Henry S. Hoskins

Not being a person of patience, I will nonetheless try to be realistic about how much I can accomplish to begin with. As a new employee is given a bit of slack while learning the ropes, I will try hard but not be discouraged if the great novel is not done by next week.

My inner critic will not be welcomed into my work space. That may take some doing, but I will surround myself with the positive. I will acknowledge mistakes, but rather than let them defeat me, I will learn from them and go on. I will be focused.

Nothing contributes so much to tranquilize the mind as a steady purpose – a point on which the soul may fix its intellectual eye.    ~Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

This is a new beginning, my first days on the job. A new dawn, a new day and all that! I have a new chance to make of this opportunity, of my life, what I will. No more worrying about what might have been or what should have or could have been done. I’m here, it’s now, and this is where it begins.

I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.                ~Lewis Carroll

Look out world, here I come!

Responses

  1. Sounds like an excellent plan. Just remember to be good to yourself. And remember how much you love to write. The inner critic doesn’t like hanging around with people who are having fun.

  2. […] question comes to me after reading Susan Ideus’s blog post titled “The Time Has Come.” For Susan, it’s all about how to approach a new lifestyle […]

    • Thanks for mentioning my blog! Of course, I’m writing not only about retirement, which is brand new to me, but also about my writing. Before, it was a cherished pastime, when I had time. Now that I have time, I hope to make it a career, one where I’ll approach it seriously, like a beginner. But, then, every day is a new beginning!

  3. Just a note to let you know I’ve given you the Silver Lining Award.

  4. Congratulations on reaching retirement. May it be full of joy! I’ll just bet that as much as you love writing, it won’t be hard to find time for that. The challenge will be finding time for other things.

  5. […] question comes to me after reading Susan Ideus’s blog post titled “The Time Has Come.” For Susan, it’s all about how to approach a new lifestyle […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

