Posted by: susanideus | March 31, 2010

Flowers and Hope

We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need silence to be able to touch souls.  ~ Mother Teresa

Today I spent time in the country, away from city noise, away from city traffic, away from city smells, away from the daily-ness of life. My husband and I headed northwest on country back roads, just a short distance from where we live but it was a whole world apart.

The air was clean and sweet, redolent of flowers, freshly turned black soil and recently mown grass. There was pure blessed quiet, save for bird-call and cattle lowing. We saw occasional cars but mostly we had the roads to ourselves. The sky was blue and un-clouded, and the sun warm. As close to a perfect day as one could have asked for…

Wildflowers2010-10

Where flowers bloom so does hope. –  Lady Bird Johnson

My soul belongs in the country, as does my husband’s. How we find ourselves tethered to this city life is one of the most puzzling parts of our life. I mean, I know how we got here, but it’s the why. It’s as though we lost sight of who we are deep down. We’ve had opportunities that we quite simply let slip out of our hands. But, as they say, that’s in the past. Finding our way back is the important thing now.

Today may have been the beginning of the journey back. It touched us both deeply. We talked and laughed and dreamed together. It was such a special day! When we got home, I wrote this haiku:

Sweet smell new mown grass / wildflowers’ dazzling array / I saw God today!

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt that connected to a place, to nature, to my God. I felt a stirring in my heart that I’ve missed very much. I felt a freedom, so unlike the closely held restraint and feeling of being lost that I experience daily. We have our eyes on a goal now, and will be actively seeking ways to reach it. Along with Lady Bird, the flowers brought me hope.

Wildflowers2010-5

Keep your sense of proportion by regularly, preferably daily, visiting the natural world.  ~Catlin Matthews

Responses

  1. Susan…That was beautiful and moving. Praying for your return to the country and all things which fill your soul.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Sherry. Of course, the country we want to be in happens to be a part of New Mexico. We really want to come “home”.

  2. I’m with you on nature. Loved the flower photos, especially the bluebonnets which are beginning to show off their stuff

    • Truly, Pat, as gorgeous as the flowers were yesterday, I know they haven’t reached their zenith yet. It will be spectacular. I really do have to be out in nature to recharge–there’s nothing like it!

  3. Beautiful photos. I’m glad you got out into the country to see the flowers.

    • Ah, Kathy, it was so lovely–and so quiet. The flowers will be even prettier later, but they worked their magic on me yesterday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

