Posted by: susanideus | December 23, 2009

No Bah Humbugs Here Today

I am not alone at all, I thought. I was never alone at all. And that, of course, is the message of Christmas.We are
never alone. Not when the night is darkest, the wind coldest, the world seemingly most indifferent. For this is still the time God chooses
.
Taylor Caldwell

I’ve been feeling like a combination of the Grinch and Ebenezer Scrooge all day long. Troubles at work–hours cut, people let go, mandatory time off with no pay. Came home to some unpaid bills that will stretch our already tight budget plus a dog who needs to go to the vet. Did I mention whiny in my self-description? On top of everything else, I couldn’t find anyone to talk to and felt very alone.

Then I opened my e-mail, and one of the women in an online group shared the above quote. Oh my, did I need to “hear” that! It was like someone reaching through cyberspace with a warm bear hug. Of course I’m not alone, and I have so many loving concerned friends who are not indifferent at all–and they are the part of my  world that really counts. My circumstances are not as bleak as they might be, as bleak as another’s may in fact be. I just had my focus cockeyed. Inward instead of out–looking down instead of up.

Tis the season for joy and hope and thankfulness and a prayer for peace. Begone, gloomy thoughts, begone Grinch and Scrooge! No Bah Humbugs here today!

Responses

  1. Love this, Sid: >
    Wonderful reminder for all of us,memorably said! Thanks for the lift. No humbug here, either, just thanks and praise to the Universe for its extraordinary gifts, including friends like you!–Hugs, Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

