Posted by: susanideus | January 4, 2007

To be Resolute…

The new year has begun. With its arrival have come stirrings of wanting to make some changes. Resolutions perhaps?

I told my husband the other day that I disliked the celebration of New Year’s because it made me think of things left undone: changes not made, letters not written, calls not made, writing not done, a blog ignored, books not read, clutter not disposed of, resolutions not kept in the old year. He reminded me of the old comic — his name escapes me — who said the easiest way to keep resolutions was to make one that you wouldn’t make any. Cute, but that didn’t seem to fit my mood either. What would? I began to look into this idea of resolutions.

From Wikipedia : “A New Year’s resolution is a committment that an individual makes to a project or a habit, often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantageous. The name comes from the fact that these commitments normally go into effect on New Years Day and remain until the set goal has been achieved, although many resolutions go unachieved and are often broken fairly shortly after they are set.” OK, so that’s not so encouraging, but then neither is my assessment of the past year. I’ll try a word search…

Some definitions of resolution include: a firm decision to do something; firmness of mind and purpose; the quality of being resolute. Some synonyms are: conviction, intent, mettle, tenacity, grit, perseverance, heart, spirit, resoluteness…

Resolute isn’t a word I hear much of late. Do we use another word? It mean: possessing determination and purposefulness; firmly determined in purpose. Synonyms include: adamant, stalwart, loyal, fixed, persistent, steadfast, true, faithful…

To my mind, my above word search makes it pretty clear that a resolution is something of note; something of worth. And, to be resolute implies not only determination but integrity. Maybe along the lines of “don’t say it if you don’t mean it”, or as we say these days, “if you’re going to talk the talk, then walk the walk.”

Where does this lead me? To make resolutions or not? To make resolutions a matter of conscience? This brings to mind a passage of Scripture that may be the Christian equivalent of this matter of resolution. Colossians 3:23 says: “Whatever you do, do it enthusistically, as something done for the Lord…”, with a footnote that says “do it enthusiastically” translates literally as “do it from the soul”.

Cosidering all this, am I going to make resolutions for this new year of 2007? Perhaps only one, but not that of the old comic.

I resolve TO BE RESOLUTE. Whatever I undertake, I will be determined, purposeful, faithful. I will be intentional, trying to make all that I do a matter of conscience. If I can accomplish this, then perhaps at this time next year, I won’t be so discouraged about this year.

Does this mean more blog entries for 2007?  Check back to see!

I wish all a very happy New Year filled with blessings and joy and peace.

Responses

  1. Life is made up of quiet moments of enthusiasm and joy. I promise to be “resolute” in reading my dear friends blog, which certainly classifies as a quiet moment of joy.

    Marti


Leave a Reply

Categories

