Posted by: susanideus | April 24, 2011

Sunday Sighs

This is the Easter message, that awakening is possible, to the goodness of God, the sacredness of human life, the sisterhood and brotherhood of all. ~Anne Lamott

For I remember it is Easter morn, and life and love and peace are all new born.  ~Alice Freeman Palmer

New beginnings! An awakening world. An awakening soul and spirit. Hope. The message of Easter–a light in my heart.

The desert is finally coming alive. The lovely ocotillo are beginning to bloom, and green has at last returned to the earthy palette. We’ve had no measurable rain for months and the desert is a serious drought. As I have been. For months, my soul has been parched, my spirit dry. As with the desert around me, I have lacked the sustenance I need.

In my case, I’ve neglected to feed my soul and spirit. In my misguided attempts to be “busy” and “productive” in my new state of retirement, I’ve taken no time for personal contemplation, no devotional reading, no time alone–all of which are vital to my inner well-being. I somehow figured if I wasn’t “doing” something, I would not be earning my keep as a stay-at-home retiree. Ouch–where did that guilt come from? a life of being defined by what I did instead of who I am?? (Maybe another post here?)

Instead of being productive, I allowed myself to completely run out of energy, motivation and hope. I allowed doubt and fear and mind-numbing fatigue to creep in and take over. I found myself accomplishing nothing at all.

Now it’s Spring–Easter has come. I invite newness and resurrection and growth into my being–to refresh and rejuvenate and replace the scarcity with abundance, hope and faith.

Hope is the ability to hear the music of the future;  faith is the courage to dance to it today. ~ Kuzmic
Responses

  1. I have to be honest Susan, I have somehow allowed your blog to become lost among my e-mails/etc.! My apologies!

    However, it was the perfect time to come back to you with this wonderful post! It speaks to me, and echoes within as I read and re-read your words… Your feelings are very familiar to me, as if you are reading my mind in a sense…

    Thank you!

    • I’m glad you caught up with me. It means a lot to hear that my words have touched someone. Thanks for letting me know, Laurinda.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

