Posted by: susanideus | February 4, 2011

Canine Musings

Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.  ~Roger Caras

Meet Sir Ryan MacDuff of Alvin, our resident Cairn Terror–uh, terrier. For some time now, I’ve meant to post this picture of my dog, Duffy, doing his best to thwart my writing efforts. (Not that he is the sole reason for my lack of posts recently.) Ever since I got this new little laptop, he revels in  plopping himself right on the keyboard. Several problems. He’s a horrid typist and even if he were not, I’ve yet to teach him to communicate in people speak, He does have quite an expressive language of his own, which while amusing, is something I’m utterly sure is best that I not understand literally.

Now I’m quite certain the little guy can read my thoughts. He is attuned to every mood, every nuance of my voice and knows instinctively how I feel. If I’m having a good day, he’s playful and often wants to take me for a walk. When I’m feeling poorly, he’s content to stay on the bed with me and can go the entire day without asking to go outside. Further, if he know I’m sick, he doesn’t leave my side. He most often is found curled up next to me–hip to hip is his preferred location. Or, if I’m in my recliner, curled up on the arm of the chair. Of course, if I’m otherwise occupied and he’s on his own, he has been been known to sneak to his forbidden place–my pillows! And of course, he gives me the sweetest, most innocent look when I find him there.

Dogs seem to have a way of keeping us honest too. On days when he “knows” I’m feeling OK, but still prefer to lounge in my chair, he calls me on it. It’s then I get THE LOOK–that haughty stare that demands attention and/or action.  Or when I get just a tad bit too absorbed in a book…

Hey, it’s me, your bestest friend here, and I need some of your time–a walk, a treat, a belly rub. Yo, look at me! Ignore me at your own peril!

He’s been known to nudge a book out of my hands. He’ll crawl right up on my chest and look directly into my eyes, daring me to disregard him, but always rewards me with a flurry of soft doggy kisses when I comply with his wishes.

No matter how little money and how few possessions you own, having a dog makes you rich. ~Louis Sabin

My days, my life, have become fuller because of this little furry creature. I can’t imagine my life without him in it. He’s given me so much more than I can ever give him in return, but it doesn’t bother him at all. He’s always ecstatic when I return after even a short absence, making even a dull day brighter. He is the epitome of love enacted. I am blessed that he shares himself with me.

Dogs have given us their absolute all. We are the center of ther universe. We are the focus of their love and faith and trust. They serve us in return for scraps. It is without a doubt the best deal man has ever made. ~Roger Caras

Responses

  1. I thoroughly enjoy when my FB friends post about their furry children. Dogs have been my best friends since I was a little girl. I love all animals but dogs are special – especially my two :D. Thank you, Susan, for sharing your special little guy and his talents. :D

    • Don’t know what I’d do without the little guy, Lindy. He’s such a special part of my life.

  2. Amen! You and I are kindred spirits in so many ways and this love of our canine companions is one! My Yorkies, CJ and Buddy, love unconditionally. I feel so sorry for folks who miss out on this. Have you ever read The Bark Magazine? If you haven’t, check it out! Great post!

    • Jude, I know people who don’t have pets, who don’t connect with animals at all. It’s hard for me to relate. (Of course, my mother was one of those people, and it was a major stumbling block for us–but that’s another story.) My dogs have taught me so much over the years about unconditional love. I wouldn’t want to imagine my days without my little Duffy. He loves that I am retired and at his beck & call. :-)

  3. Of course I enjoyed your post. You know I like dogs – I have 3, 2 Yorkies & a Maltese. They have been such good buddies during the time I’ve snowed in. One is on my shoulder as i type.

    • Oh Joyce, I love that image! My guy spends a lot of time getting as close to me as he can, especially when it’s so cold.

  4. Thanks Susan, for a great post. We are in AZ still, and of course our girls are with us! Funny how dogs come to mean so much – our fur babies!

    • Lo, our girls say their dad spoils this dog much more than he did them–of course, they’re right! He has a special place in our lives. He goes where we go, and getting in the car to go on the road is one of his favorite things.

  5. What a sweet face he has! You know how much I love our two Yorkies so I can imagine what your boy means to you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

